MAV Technology was established by the Municipal Association of Victoria in 2004. It is an independently funded group of local government IT, digital and business transformation practitioners, who are committed to demonstrating leadership to improve council and community services. 77 of Victoria’s 79 councils are current members of MAV Technology.

MAV Technology provides:

  • communication channels for members to share ideas, resources and experiences;
  • collaborative procurement opportunities to reduce costs and increase efficiency;
  • conference and forum events to encourage discussion and innovation;
  • funding for projects of strategic value to the sector;
  • awards to encourage and recognise innovation in ICT;
  • advocacy for major transformative initiatives;
  • a platform to collaborate with other levels of government and local government associations.







View the MAV Technology Annual Review 2018

MAV Technology is governed by the MAV Technology Executive Committee, which is made up of volunteer representatives from member councils. The Committee makes decisions regarding MAV Technology’s strategic direction; project funding and support; event programming; vendor sponsorships and partnerships; engagement with State and Federal government; and advocacy for innovative and transformative ICT initiatives. Any member council of MAV Technology can volunteer a representative to join the MAV Technology Executive Committee. Nominations are sought annually.

The MAV Technology Executive Committee is:

  • South Gippsland Shire Council – Vanessa Adams, Manager Innovation and Council Business
  • City of Port Phillip – Rod Apostol, Business Technology Manager
  • City of Yarra – Margherita Barbante, Manager Information Services
  • City of Manningham – David Bellchambers, Manager Information Technology
  • Southern Grampians Shire Council – Russell Bennett, Manager Business Systems
  • Campaspe Shire Council – Daniel Butel, Business Integration Manager
  • City of Melbourne – Colin Fairweather, Chief Information Officer
  • Rural City of Wangaratta – Suzanne Fisher, Manager – Customer & Information Services
  • Mildura Rural City Council – Paul Kealley, Information Systems Coordinator
  • Surf Coast Shire Council – Neil McQuinn, IT Manager
  • City of Boroondara – Gerardine O’Sullivan, Principal Digital Strategist
  • Casey City Council – Ashley Pratt, A/Manager Information Technology
  • Moonee Valley City Council – Robert Raiskums, Chief Information Officer
  • Ballarat City Council – Justine Resta, Transformation Lead
  • Golden Plains Shire Council – Carolynne Roberts, IS Administrator
  • Greater Bendigo City Council – Michael Smyth, Manager Information Management
  • Glen Eira City Council – John Staines, Chief Information Officer
  • City of Greater Geelong – Matthew Szymczak, Digital and Data Lead
  • Wyndham City Council – Jane Tyzack, Manager Community First & Digital Mobilisation | City Life
  • Yarra Ranges Shire Council – Hyma Valpala, Digital and Data Lead
  • Hobsons Bay City Council – Roger Verwey, Manager Information Services
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire Council – Marnie Williams, Executive Manager Human Resources
  • City of Moreland / City of Whittlesea – Hans Wolf, Chief Information Officer
  • Latrobe City Council – Christine Wright, Manager Information Services
  • MAV Technology – Lisa Bennetto, Executive Officer


Regional EC Members


Metro EC Members



MAV Technology Strategy 2015-18

MAV Strategic Work Plan 2017-19

For more information, contact Lisa Bennetto, Executive Officer, MAV Technology.